Student Design Teams Make it to Final Round


Virginia Tech’s 2012-13 Mining and Minerals Engineering Student Design teams have made it to the final phase of the SME/NSSGA’s annual Student Design Competition. Teams “Jagstone” and “VT Daily Grind”—the only two Virginia Tech teams to compete in this year’s event—are among the six top teams to make it to the final phase of the competition, which is held during the upcoming SME Annual Meeting in Exhibit in Denver, Colorado.

Members of team “Jagstone” include seniors Jim Hoffman, Andrew Russell, Robert Winterfield, Thayer McGregor, Gabe Awad-Letteri, and junior Meredith Scaggs. Team”VT Daily Grind” includes seniors Nolan Eckroade, Trevor Buck, Lynn Kern, Anthony Clifford, Kenneth Carey, and junior Tyler Faulkner.

The second phase of the competition consists of a final problem presented to the teams on the first day of the SME Meeting. Students have approximately 48 hours to address the problem via a written report and final presentation. The final winning team then has the opportunity to present a shortened version of their final presentation at one of the meeting’s technical sessions.

Related Links

SME/NSSGA Student Design Competition

SME/NSSGA Student Design Competition Facebook