Highlights from the 2017 Scholarship and Awards Banquet

Students, alumni, and industry friends joined the department in Blacksburg, Virginia, for its Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, held this year on April 7, 2017, at the Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center. The event recognizes and honor students for their academic achievements as well as give thanks to the department’s many supporters.

Highlights of this year’s banquet included the awarding of the Old Timer’s Club Watchman Award to senior Hunter McGhee by club member Albert Aloia. With over 70 members, the Old Timer’s Club selects outstanding engineering students each year from a pool of universities to earn membership into the club. Ryan Harvey was the recipient of the Careers in Coal award and was presented with the award’s brass mining lantern from Dick Bolen, Class of 1970. As the graduating senior with the highest grade point average, Austin Duvekot earned the department’s Academic Achievement Award. Jennifer Doggett was presented with the Lucas-Hathaway Charitable Trust Award by Eric and Charlotte Lucas.

Among the department’s graduate students, the Paul S. Barbery Award went to Ming Fan, who is in his second year of his PhD studies with Dr. Cheng Chen. Ali Haghighat, a PhD student working with Dr. Luxbacher, was selected by the undergraduates for the Haycocks Teaching Award. And Sallie Galliard and Kaiwu Huang, both department master’s students, were recognized as Outstanding Graduate Students.

Jennifer Doggett stands with Eric and Charlotte Lucas for the Lucas-Hathaway Charitable Trust Award